Spiritual Things · Sweet

Who Do You Want To Be?

When I was a little girl, and even into my teen years, I would think about the man I wanted to marry. I started making out ‘lists’ in my head of what kind of man he would be, what characteristics he would have, he’d have a horse, sing me songs, he’d save me from the evil dragon keeping me locked up in my tower… You know, just you’re average Joe. All kidding aside, though, most of that was true (once I start mentioning a horse, it’s all jokes from there).

When I started growing up, though, I had the thought, “Am I the kind of woman the kind man I want to marry would want to marry?”. The very first thing on my ‘list’ was “someone who puts God above everyone and anything.” Was that who I was, though? Was I putting God above everyone and anything else in life? The things I was expecting from ‘my guy’ were all things he would look for in ‘his girl’, too. Would I even attract him with who I was?

I quickly threw out all of my preconceived notions and ‘lists’ and started making a new list… “My Husband’s Dream Wife”. I started thinking about the qualities and characteristics that would draw a Godly, spiritually-minded man to me.

I read through the obvious scriptures like Proverbs 31 and Ephesians 5, but didn’t stop there. Proverbs 12:4, 11:16, I Peter 3. I even started looking at women in the Bible like Ruth, Sarah, Esther, Rahab. They all had incredible faith and qualities I wanted to have.

As girls, it’s so easy to get distracted or worried about meeting the right guy, at the right place, at the right time, but if we don’t prepare ourselves and our hearts then we won’t be ready! I know that I am complete in Christ! I know that my Maker is my Husband. I don’t need to be concerned and carried away by worries in this life. That’s easier said then done, but I want to be the virtuous woman whose worth is far above rubies. I want my husband to read through Proverbs 31 and say with joy in his heart, “that’s my wife!”.

I implore girls/women of all ages, and at any point in life, to decide who you want to be. Don’t feel bad if you come up short. No one has the right to judge you but God alone and He won’t ever judge you. God is there with you every step of the way, guiding you to where you need to go. He won’t drag you, though. It will take some effort on our part, but it’s worth it 🙂

3 thoughts on “Who Do You Want To Be?

Leave a Reply

