Spiritual Things

I Am Blessed

I read this article this morning about “the one thing Christians should stop saying”. I was shocked when I read what that one thing was – “I’m blessed”. That’s right!

I say I’m blessed all the time, not because it’s a habit, but because I am coming into agreement with God about who He says I am. We are blessed! In every situation we are in, we are blessed because we are in Christ. I will not stop saying I’m blessed! “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.” James 1:17 Jesus wasn’t preaching “here’s the steps to be blessed” in the Beatitudes in Matthew 5, He was preaching the New Covenant! Blessed are those who are poor in SPIRIT… Well, if we are now in Christ, and given a new spirit (2 Corinthians 5:17) He must not have been telling us we must be poor in order to be blessed. He was really saying that we’re blessed because He will give us a new spirit. He came to give us life and life more abundantly (John 10:10). If you look at people in the Old Testament you can see God blessed them! Solomon was the richest man who ever will live. Abraham was blessed with flocks, land and never lacked. They were under the Old Covenant, but through the blood of Jesus we now have a better covenant which was established on better promises (Heb 8:6). We don’t have to lack in the natural or the spiritual. Jesus promised we would have trials and tribulation, but to be of good cheer because He has overcome the world (John 16:33). Not everything will be perfect all the time, but in the end, we come out on top! Acts 4:34 actually says that there was no one among them who lacked (the disciples and those who came to Christ).

I am BLESSED!!

Leave a Reply

