Life

It Happened In A Blink…

This time two years ago, my mom almost, and in all honesty, should have died. It all happened on March 17th, 2013 when my mom woke me up to tell me that Emily (my sister) was taking her to the ER because she had a very sharp pain in her stomach. I knew it had to be bad because the only time I’ve ever seen my mom go to the hospital was to give birth to my two younger sisters. My mom rarely got sick, and when she did, she never complained. She broke her tailbone one time and would have never known it! She’s tough.

I texted my sister to find out what was going on since I hadn’t heard anything for a few hours. “The doctor just came in and told us that she has to have her gallbladder removed. She’s fine.”

Simple enough, right? Wrong. The next two weeks were filled with ER visits, being admitted/re-admitted to the hospital, have a surgery, recovery, go home… Repeat. I would go to work all day, visit my mom in the hospital, convince my sisters it was time to go home (and then drag them out of the hospital), figure out what to do about dinner (this was usually some nasty, greasy thing we bought at a drive-thru) and then do it all over again… for two weeks.

Finally, after countless drive-thru meals, sleepless nights, arguments with my “baby” sister (due to lack of sleep and knowing she was just concerned), it was finally over. Right? Wrong again.

On Friday, March 28th, 2013, I was out at a “Good Friday” evening service. I got a text from my sister, “Mom’s not feeling well.” I replied, “Okay. What’s wrong? Do I need to come home?” “No, don’t come home. I think she’ll be okay.”

Around 9pm (? I just know it was dark out and after 7pm) I got a call from my sister, Natalie. She was crying and freaking out so much I could not understand a word she was saying. I finally got her calmed down enough to where I was able to understand her. “Mom is laying on the bathroom floor and Em called 911.” I jumped in my car and sped (yes, I was speeding) home as quickly as I could. I remember trying to calm Natalie down and praying over her, the situation and my mom. I remember telling Natalie that everything was fine. Mom is healed in the name of Jesus and not to worry.

When I pulled up to the house, the paramedics had just finished getting my mom on the stretcher into the ambulance. I barely spoke to my sisters, as they told me the paramedics said I could follow them to the ER. I hugged my sisters and told them not to worry, mom is healed, then I rushed back to my car to follow the ambulance to the ER. I remember seeing three men in the back with her. They were working on her and tubes where strung all over. I remember thinking, “What I am going to do if she dies? What will happen to my sisters? I need my mom to be there on my wedding day.” The Lord spoke to me in that moment and said, “You know my Word. Now you have a decision to make. You can either believe My Word, or look at the natural situation. Which are you going to do?” I thought about it for a second and then said, “I believe Your Word.”

I sat in the waiting room for a long time just praying. Then I was finally able to go back to the ER room with her and it looked like she was already dead. The little bit of color she had been gray, as she laid there on the table lifeless. Tubes and blood were everywhere. I remember her telling me to take care of the girls and to tell them she loved them. I cut her off and very firmly told her, “Stop. Do NOT say that. I will not hear it. If you want to talk like that, I will walk out of this room. You ARE healed by His stripes in the name of Jesus, so shut your mouth!” Harsh? Yes, but the power of life and death is in the tongue (Proverbs 18:21), so I was not going to let her speak those lies of death! She started crying and I’m pretty sure the nurse was thinking about kicking me out! Haha I told my mom not to worry or give up because she still had to see us (my sisters and me) get married and have babies. I told her that the next time we would be at the hospital would be a good thing – when I have a baby. The nurse thought I was pregnant as he congratulated me!

The worst was not over yet, though. They had to “evacuate” her stomach, so they shoved a tube down her NOSE into her stomach, which made her throw up everywhere with the tube hanging out her nose. More blood. In fact, I had blood on my shirt. After several failed attempts to get an IV in, they had to put a central line into her neck. Oh, yeah… “You need to hold very still because if you move, I could puncture your jugular vein.” the nurse tells my mom. At some point in all of this, I had to leave the room because I was about to pass out.

They finally stabilized her and took her upstairs to the Intensive Care Unit. I remember finding a Bible in the drawer of her ICU room and just reading it out loud. I had such peace, though.

The doctors figured that the surgeon who had done her last procedure (to remove a gall stone) had probably nicked a vein or something. They said it would be a quick and easy surgery. We waited for a couple of hours, then the doctor came out to tell us, “it isn’t as easy or good as we thought. We couldn’t find anything, so we started looking in other places. We know that she is still bleeding internally, and saw that the bleeding was coming from somewhere higher than the gallbladder. It looks like the liver might have been nicked somehow, but we cannot do anything else for her here. We need to transport to her to another hospital with doctors who are skilled in this area.” While she was “recovering” and waiting to be transported, I went home to tell my sisters what was going on. I had left them pretty clueless so they wouldn’t worry. The three of us decided to stand in agreement that “this report is not the final report, and we believe God’s report is final! God’s report says that she is healed and whole. We believe that she is supernaturally healed and the doctors will be shocked and have no idea what happened.” I also called our pastor and he had just arrived at the hospital as I drove back. He prayed over her, then they took her to another hospital.

Several more hours passed and we waited, and waited and waited. When the doctor came back, he said, “We’re not sure what happened. We know she was bleeding internally before she arrived here because they sent over scans of it, however, there’s no proof that she is bleeding now, or ever was bleeding internally. She’s perfectly fine. And very healthy. She’s lost a lot of blood, so she’s received two blood transfusions and we want to keep her here for a couple of days to monitor her.”

“There’s no proof that she is bleeding now, or ever was bleeding internally.” 

Remember how I said we spoke life over the situation, and how we believed that the doctor’s report was not the final report? There IS power in our words and what we believe and say! I think about just how different this might have ended had we not believe God and put our trust in His word. This was the final trip to a doctor, ER, the last surgery or health concern my mom has had in three years. And in the natural, she should have died, but she’s here! She’s alive and strong. My mom did live to see my wedding day, and I know she’ll live to see her younger two daughters get married and watch all of her grand-babies grow and have babies of their own!

A Better Image Photography

One thought on “It Happened In A Blink…

Leave a Reply

