Spiritual Things

Waiting For a Promise

Have you ever wanted something so badly it hurt? I have. Have you ever had to wait for something you want? I have.

I am.

It’s not fun to wait. No one enjoys waiting and yet we all have to wait for things. We have to wait in line, we have to wait for promotions, and on and on I could go. In life you will wait. So what do we do in this season? How do we wait for the things we long for?

What do we do in the waiting?

waiting-on-a-promise

First, we realize that God is there. We realize and come to know that even in the trying times, the painful times, these times of waiting, God is there with us. We are not alone. God is by our side and He’s never left. Psalm 16:8 says, “I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.” (ESV)

Learn to trust Him. We cannot truly believe God for something is we don’t trust Him. How are you going to believe God for something good if you don’t trust Him to follow through? Psalm 18:30 says, “As for God, His way is perfect; The word of the Lord is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him.” (NKJV)
God’s way is better than our way, His word has been proven true, and when we trust Him, He is a shield! Remind yourself of a time when God showed Himself faithful to you. I remember a time when I couldn’t find a job, then one day a job practically landed in my lap! I remember a time when my mom was dying and how I said, “Okay, God. I trust You. You are our healer and I believe it.” and my mom lived! I remember a time when my husband and I were trusting God for promotion and a raise, and I remember how we received both within a few months!

Trusting God is a lifestyle. You don’t wake up one day trusting God and never have to do it again. Every day we choose to trust God. We have many areas to learn how to trust Him in as well. We have to learn how to trust Him with our finances, with our health, with our peace, with each step and decision we make, we learn how to trust Him for our children, for our protection. And on and on it goes. It’s about a relationship with the Living God!

It takes time. It takes time to see the promises come to pass. There have been things in life that I’ve believed for something and saw instant results. Other things took a few days, weeks, months. I am believing for something right now and I have been believing for it for over a year now! Just because it hasn’t happened yet doesn’t mean it will never happen. God is patient, and we have to be patient, too.

(as it is written, “I have made you a father of many nations”) in the presence of Him whom he believed—God, who gives life to the dead and calls those things which do not exist as though they did; who, contrary to hope, in hope believed, so that he became the father of many nations, according to what was spoken, “So shall your descendants be.” And not being weak in faith, he did not consider his own body, already dead (since he was about a hundred years old), and the deadness of Sarah’s womb. He did not waver at the promise of God through unbelief, but was strengthened in faith, giving glory to God, and being fully convinced that what He had promised He was also able to perform. And therefore “it was accounted to him for righteousness.” – Romans 4:17-22 (NKJV)

God is willing and able. You have to know that God is not only willing, but He is able. “And it happened when He was in a certain city, that behold, a man who was full of leprosy saw Jesus; and he fell on his face and implored Him, saying, “Lord, if You are willing, You can make me clean.” Then He put out His hand and touched him, saying, “I am willing; be cleansed.” Immediately the leprosy left him.” – Luke 5:12-13

Jesus is willing! He is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we could ask or think, and it’s according to the power that works in us! (Ephesians 3:20) Nothing you could possibly ask Him, or even dare to think or imagine is too hard for Him. That power works on the inside of you, so let it out! Release that miracle working power in your life today!

Don’t give up. And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.” Just keep going to God, trusting Him, and do not give up on what He has promised you. God is your strength. With Him nothing is impossible (Mark 10:27). He is fighting for you, don’t be discouraged, and keep standing on His promise!

 

Leave a Reply

