Home & Recipes

Easily Delicious Burritos

Easily Delicious BurritosWhen my husband and I first got married, we were both concerned about the cooking… I was worried because I hadn’t cooked much and only knew how to make like three meals. My husband, bless his heart, never told me he was also concerned and worried about what he would eat! Until I had done the unthinkable – By the grace of God I managed to cook a new meal almost every night for the first month of our marriage! Sure, it was a lot the same type/style of meals, but different nonetheless. Chicken and rice with a twist, anyone? My husband is always praising me for my cooking; I personally think he’s just amazed I don’t always burn the food and it’s not the same burned meal every night πŸ™‚ Because I’m not by any means a great cook. I am truly a blessed woman! And he is always offering to just have a “sandwich night” so that I don’t have to cook. Plus, he loves leftovers! That’s right ladies, I hit the jackpot! While trying to expand my horizons, I stumbled across a burrito recipe on Pinterest that looked pretty easy. I’m terrible at following recipes, though, so I loosely followed the recipe and kind of made it my own. I hate measuring things out and do everything based on my “that looks about right” gauges. However, I did give rough measurements below! I love how quick and easy this recipe is. And it’s very inexpensive. It takes about 20-30 minutes and it’s very versatile. You can add or substitute in whatever you’d like! You could pinto beans instead of black, or both! We’ve tried adding white rice to it, which wasn’t a hit, however, I’d do it differently now. I just threw in plain white rice. Now I would try cooking the rice in with the chicken/bean mixture to give it more flavor. Seriously, this is just the start of possibilities for these easily delicious burritos! So for those of you who are like me and can’t figure out the difference between a chef’s knife and a santoku knife… this is for you! And for those of you who are top notch chefs, you can spice it up and share your ideas with the rest of us. Here’s the final product. These pictures do not even begin to do the burritos justice… IMG_5277 IMG_5279 Β  The ingredients will make about 8-10 large burritos depending on how much you “stuff” the tortilla as well as the size of the tortillas. I like to make several, so that we have leftovers for lunches πŸ™‚ Ingredients: Chicken (2 breast) Black beans (2-3 cans depending on your preference) Flour tortillas (I use the large Mission flour tortillas) Mexican style shredded cheese (1 bag) About 1 1/2 teaspoons Chili powder About 1 teaspoon Cumin Olive oil Salt, if desired Toppings of your choice We use our griddler to warm the tortillas, so if you have one, that’s awesome, but it’s not necessary. Directions: Cut chicken into small cubes/bite size pieces and throw into a large skillet that’s coated slightly in olive oil. Cook on medium/high. Shake chili and cumin powder over chicken until thoroughly covered. IMG_6927 Once the chicken is cooked, pour in the beans and let simmer until warmed. On medium/low heat, warm your tortilla on the griddler for a few seconds until it softens (I was inspired by Chipotle). IMG_6930 Now for the assembly… Spread the cheese out in the center of your warm tortilla and add chicken/bean mixture besides the cheese. IMG_6931 Roll up the tortilla and place on the griddler for a few more seconds to melt the cheese. Serve with your favorite toppings such as salsa, sour cream, lettuce, etc. If you try this recipe and like it, or try varieties of it, let me know how it goes! I’d love to hear what everyone else comes up with πŸ™‚ ~Ashley

Leave a comment